New Look! New Post!

Okay, so I realized that I’m beginning to slip back into the bad habit of procrastination. Tsk. Never a good thing. So I decided HEY I think I’m going to give my blog a new look because I think the old one was a little too…boring. This new look is making me ganado again. Hahahaha!

A couple of important things I’ve been putting off:

  1. Schedule my 3rd driving test. I’m still reeling from the unfairness of it all. That 2nd tester in Fremont was definitely having a bad day and decided to take it out on me. My 3rd and (hopefully!!!) last behind-the-wheel test will be in Hayward FOR SURE. The testers there are much more professional and courteous. 
  2. Have my transcripts Evaluated. Well, it’s $140.00 plus mailing fees and other misc, fees so that’s a pretty big expense. I have until March to get this done anyway. In my defense though, I’ve started the application already.
  3. CBEST. Ahhhhh. The California Basic Educational Skills Test. The test that I must pass to become eligible to teach in California. While I have gotten past the reading and math reviewers and completed some practice tests, maybe the reason as to why I’m putting this off is because I want a break from exams. I mean, I kind of just got out of college so it would be nice to not have to stress over another exam for a while. But alas poor Yorik (what) I have to take the exam by November in case I don’t get a good score in which I’ll have to take the exam again. Hay.
  4. Schedule a meeting with a financial consultant. I love that Provident offers this free service! I know I’m pretty young and not earning that much yet, but I’d like to get a head start on investment. It really is never too early to start, I believe.
  5. Post in this blog. I have a good reason for this. I’ve been really busy with my volunteer work and my regular job. My free time is spent recharging so I haven’t had much energy to do anything besides that. But I also realized that I have A LOT of kwento so I might as well get down to it and update this blog! Hahaha. The reason I started this blog was to keep in touch with people anyway, and how can I keep in touch if I’m sleeping all the time? Hahahaha!

Things that I’m not putting off:

SAVING FOR MY CAR! When my dad first shocked me by saying, “Oh I’m not giving you a car anymore. You’re going to have to buy it yourself.” I felt cheated. But now, I’m really excited to buy my FIRST car ever with my hard-earned money by the end of this year! I don’t care if it’s a 2nd hand starter car, it’s always better when it’s earned! And I love the idea of starting from the bottom and working your way to the top! I remember cringing at the thought of starting from scratch in the United States. I was like, ughhhh I’m going to have to start all over again. Hassle.

But now?

Now I’m loving it and I’ll tell you why.

  1. New faces, New places. I love meeting new people and exploring new places. There’s just so much to learn from a country with so much diversity. Like for example, each city has its own culture and I love experiencing the differences in every city and its locals
  2. Challenges, experiences, and lessons that I probably would not have been exposed to had I stayed in the Philippines. Every adult I meet here always tells me that I’ve “come here at the best time of my life”. The first few times I was like okaaaay? But now I get what they mean. At this point in time, I am beginning to shape and direct my life. There are so many opportunities available to me, and I have the energy and time to invest in them (should I choose to). In every opportunity there is growth. I feel so alive, and empowered, and passionate. What I have to remember though, is to stay focused and make good decisions because what I do today will affect my tomorrow.
  3. It’s an Eye-Opener. I’m beginning to understand more about so many aspects of myself, people, society, spirituality, the world. Everyday there’s a question to be answered, or an occurrence to be mulled over, or something. It’s very stimulating, in a good way.

Don’t get me wrong though. I’m not saying it’s loads better over here than it is in my country. All I’m saying is, new places offer new experiences. It’s different. I’ve grown so much in the Philippines and now, I’m growing over here. It’s great, and I’m thankful for it now. I’m sure I’ll be thankful for it later on too. I’m going to make the most of my time here. It’s a good feeling, actually, starting over. It’s exciting to see how I’ll make something of myself here, what I can do. It’s all a matter of perspective, I guess. Isn’t it funny how things work out? 🙂

Leave a Reply

