Sleep

I just woke up from one of the best afternoon naps I’ve had in a long time. It’s 4:25 pm, the sun is perfectly in place, there’s a nice breeze, and I’ve just been stretching out on the porch. In fact, it was so good that when I woke up, I had some kind of a pesudo-poem floating around my head about stuff that makes me fall asleep (which is interesting, since I haven’t felt my muse tap into my literary abilities in years. I have a feeling it’ll take me some time before I can write like I used to). But I figured I’d get it into writing anyway, before I forget it!


To Sleep

To the sound of leaves rustling in a gentle breeze
I sleep
To the sound of light rain, tapping against the pavement
I sleep
To the steady hum of the AC or the low whir of the fan
Or to soft voices that drift through thin walls into my room
I sleep
In a warm room, or at the back of a moving car
To rhythmic breathing, a steady heartbeat
To the warmth of a hand on the curve of my waist
To fingers, lightly playing with the strands of my hair
Like a Spanish guitarist
To my body pressed against, and molded into
The crevices and hollows of another body
To the sporadic bursts of breath that pass between lips
That are but a hairsbreadth away from the back of my neck
I sleep

Now that I got that out, I’m just going to sit out here on the porch and watch the sky change color and the clouds take shape. From my observation, best time to do this is around 4-6pm. This weather is just too beautiful, and reminds me of the late afternoons back at home. I really am a late afternoon person!

Leave a Reply

