Feeling the Love

A few days after I arrived, my older sister asked me if I was sad. I said not really. She said, “It’s okay to be sad.” I said, “I know. But I’m not sad.”

2 weeks in, and I’m still not as sad as I thought I’d be.

Why am I not sad???? Shouldn’t I have been bawling my eyes out in all my despedidas and on the plane? Shouldn’t I be wrapped in a blanket right now, looking at photos and trying to find a way to buy a ticket back home? In theory I should, but I’m not. Maybe it’s because I was sent off with so much love and support rather than with sadness. I’m an incredibly lucky girl 🙂

*Activate sentimental mode focus on Departure Week*

June 4 Monday

  • Had a lovely Sambokojin dinner with my T6 students whom I love TO BITS. I’m glad I saw most of them. T6 is definitely something else ❤

June 5 Tuesday

  • Lunch with one of my oldest guy friends, Buster. We may have drifted apart in college, but it’s nice to know that we’re still friends  even if we don’t hang out as often as we used to back in high school. Like they say, the friends you make in high school are the ones you keep forever. (I think they say that about friends you meet in college too. Regardless, both are true in my case) It was great catching up with him
  • Jamming with Fritz at my place. We tried to cover Christina Perri’s A Thousand Years but we weren’t in the zone. Things picked up when Bardo came over with his ukele, and later on in the night Pilar came bearing gifts and the four of us shared a hilarious milestone together

June 6 Wednesday

  • Morning video shoot for an upcoming online magazine that I’m writing for (I’m not going to spoil that, but wait for it! It’s coming soon!!!). Best part of this was when Pilar threw a handful of flour on my face. Sounds weird? It’ll make sense in a couple of days 😉
  • Despedida with with my college org Psyche, organized by the military-man-party-planner Russell. Great turnout. I love my Psyche family!

June 7 Thursday

  • Lunch with one of my awesome-est friends ever–Marco Dior. Conversations with this guy are always crazy and never complete without the phrase “that’s what she said”. He is like a friggin ninja–I don’t know how he manages to make this phrase work with another phrase that is clearly not what she said. Genius right there.

June 8 Friday

  • Coffee with Pilar. As usual, we had good coffee and an even better conversation. She gave me a parting gift that has its very own SNL-esque story. One of my favorite moments with my numero uno chica!
  • Dinner with Psych batch 2012. I was an hour and a half late for this, but it was so great to see everyone having SO much fun talking and catching up. I got to see a lot of my favorite psych people in one place. A lot of hugs were going around. Thanks to Albert for being the unofficial official photographer of the night! I can’t wait to see everyone in a couple of years and hear how their lives have changed!
  • At around 11 pm I went over to the Fort for Lee’s 22nd chill birthday party. Saw Pilar again, Lauren, and my first college block best friend Gabby who gave me advice on which car to get in the states. Japanese cars over American cars, got it!

June 9 Saturday

  • Despedida thrown for me by Mayte, Pilar, and Leyre. My high school barkada BTK was there, and I hadn’t seen some of them for over a year! It was so great to catch up with them again. Of course my Povedan-Atenean friends were there, what I call the Venn Diagram group because it’s basically the same people in various groups, give or take. While almost everyone was present, I missed Gabbie, Alexa, Paui, Iana, and a few others. No worries, I’ll see them when I visit!!!
  • Crazy day because I suddenly got a 38 degree fever and a bum stomach. That didn’t stop me from having the best time, though!

June 10 Sunday

  • Family time! Last Sunday in Lola’s house until I get back. I will definitely miss my family, especially my cousins! And most most most especially my favorite little cousin Sandrine. Who am I going to watch Monster High and put make-up with now?

June 11 Monday

  • This was a SUPER stressful day! My mom had a family dinner planned which turned out to be a SURPRISE DESPEDIDA by my ASLA (Ateneo Student Leaders Assembly) family! Oh em, this one I did not see coming at all. AT. ALL. But I was kind of anticlimactic because 1) I was late and 2) I didn’t bring my glasses so it took me a while to realize that all the people standing in a line holding napkins with words on them were my friends and not waiters 😐 Despite the fail on my part, IT WAS EPIC!
  • My best friend for 2011-2012 (according to facebook) and now 2012-2013 (according to us) Eddan met up with me after my dental appointment. Traded grad pictures (finally!), renewed our best friendship, and solemnly swore to be best friends for as long as for EVER. Awww Eds!
  • After the surprise despedida by the ASLANs, I had a really good visit with someone very close to my heart. I’m glad that happened because a lot of questions I had had finally been answered.

June 12 Tuesday

  • Short surprise visits from Fritz and Pat (who gave me one of the sweetest parting gifts ever…a ukelele!!! Fritz is definitely my musical soul brother. He knew I was sad about not being able to bring my instruments to the states, so he he gave me a ukelele to tide me over until I can afford to buy myself another guitar! Awww!), Alexa and Paui, and of course, Pilar. Bardo came over too, and taught me how to use my new ukelele! Yay!
  • THE DAY BEFORE. Wow. I still remember the immense amount of stress I felt, especially because I hadn’t started packing. Yup. Leave it to me to start packing at midnight for my 9am flight the following day. I am super thankful to my mom who stayed up with and and helped me figure out my luggage situation. By the time we were done it was around 4:30 am, so I decided I wouldn’t sleep anymore, since the alarm was set to go off at 5 am. At 6 am, we were already on the way to the airport. Last chance to call and text people before getting on the plane, so I did all of that. On the plane, I basically slept and changed any negative energy to positive energy. Like, instead of saying “I’m leaving everyone I love, my home, and the life I’ve built for 22 years,” I told myself to say “I’m going off on an adventure to start a whole new chapter of my life, and I’m excited to come home and tell everyone about it.” This helped a lot, and that’s what I do every time I catch myself giving off negative energy. It’s an awesome way to deal with this super big change. What’s even more awesome is that everyone is just so supportive that I’m so inspired to do my best.

Thank you, God, for the amazing family and friends that you have given me. I know I wouldn’t be who I am today, if it weren’t for each and every one of them 🙂

2 thoughts on “Feeling the Love

  1. musical sooouuul sisterrr! i just wanted to comment here coz no one else has! lololol (yes i feel special and great na..). hahaha! anyway.. i just wanted to say that.. your parting was such a party. =D PARTYNG!

Leave a Reply

